CRASH-ing Into My Life in Print

It’s shameful that I haven’t written in so long. And honestly, so many things have been happening. But lets take the short road shall we! I could gnaw your ear off with all the details and emotional ups and downs and all the little daily events but lets just get down to the meat and potatoes of this thing!

On March 19th I began my second internship here in Paris – in the role that I have always dreamed of getting… a position in a high end Fashion Magazine! I tried to play it cool when I got the news, but to be honest it was such an incredible thing that I never dreamed I would accomplish a year ago, heck even six months ago! Still sometimes I have to pinch myself to think about all the seemingly impossible rungs of this ladder I have climbed; each one seemingly more impossible to reach than the next.

I remember coming home from the interview for this particular magazine and feeling a huge sense of pride and accomplishment, even if I didn’t get the position. I had walked into the interview that day, not knowing what to expect or where I was going or what the office looked like or anything – as blind as blind could be. So rather than focusing on the things I didn’t know, and had no control of, I decided the most productive thing to do would be to take the reins of what I COULD control. So I did my researched and prepped myself for all fashion related instances and how I felt about them, and developed my opinions on the various matters. I had been emailing with the Marketing Editor completely in English, so the one thing I hadn’t prepared myself for was that my interview was completely in French! My Editor (then still yet to be decided Editor) sat down beside me on a little pink couch in the corner of the tiny office. She said “Bon, dit moi a propos de vous”, basically “So tell me who you are and what you’re doing in Paris”.

I had this moment mid-way through the interview when I realized that I hadnt been stumbling for words, or feeling nervous about my language at all… in fact I hadn’t even really thought about it! Somewhere between explaining my goals, and my favourite collections from Paris Women’s Pret-A-Porter (see my previous post My Favourites from Paris FW14-15 for the juicy details… don’t worry there’s pictures!), I realized how much my French had improved since my first week of working in Paris. At that moment I thought, even if nothing happens from this, I am so proud that I made it through this interview, that I was able to BE MYSELF through the whole thing. Which, by the way is probably the greatest challenge when you’re working in another language or learning a new language… You lose this sense of ‘you’. For example, most people in my life consider me funny… I am dark, sarcastic, and I love a good witty and humorous repartee. However in France, I ain’t so funny. I don’t know how to even express the jokes or comments that come to me in the moment… I find myself very polite, with a very professional vocabulary – that’s right I’m completely void of my deliciously expressive curse words! (At this point I must interject to any family member reading this and just say to them ‘Hey! Hey!… C’mon. Eh!…C’mon now.” And breathe easy because in France I don’t even know how to curse. It’s like grade 4 all over again.)

Anyways! I obviously smashed and grabbed my way through my interview well enough because they called me back later that night to tell me I’d gotten the position. That was the day before my birthday. 🙂 I started at Crash Magazine that Monday.

I have since been at the magazine a total of 2 months and today I held my first print issue, with my name on the masthead in my hands.

Me reading an article I wrote for my first ever issue in Crash Magazine (issue 68)

Me reading an article I wrote for my first ever issue in Crash Magazine (issue 68)

Since starting at Crash I have written several articles of which you can find below, but for more exclusive stories, some absolutely stunning editorials and awesome interviews with some of Cannes Film Festivals darlings,  keep your eyes peeled for Crash Issue 68 on your news stands by the end of the month!

Lancel Presents 'A Day in The Life' of Armelle Leturcq and Frank Perrin

Lancel Presents ‘A Day in The Life’ of Armelle Leturcq and Frank Perrin

LANCEL PRESENTS A DAY IN THE LIFE OF ARMELLE LETURCQ AND FRANK PERRIN

 

Sonia Rykiel's new Artistic Director Julie De Libran

Sonia Rykiel’s new Artistic Director Julie De Libran

SONIA RYKIEL Appoints Julie De Libran as Artistic Director

Sonia Rykiel Solaire Eyewear Collection

Sonia Rykiel Solaire Eyewear Collection

SONIA RYKIEL SOLAIRE EYEWEAR COLLECTION

29th International Festival for Fashion and Photography in Heyers

Image from Grand Winner Kenta Matsushige’s womanswear collection, Hinabi. 29th International Festival for Fashion and Photography in Heyers

29th INTERNATIONAL FESTIVAL OF FASHION AND PHOTOGRAPHY IN HYERES

G-Star Raw & Marc Newson's 10yr Anniversary  Bomber Jacket

G-Star Raw & Marc Newson’s 10yr Anniversary Bomber Jacket

10th ANNIVERSARY OF G-STAR RAW AND MARC NEWSON

Xavier Dolan

Xavier Dolan

INTERVIEW WITH XAVIER DOLAN (intro)

 

Dior Homme: The Sneaker Revisited

Dior Homme: The Sneaker Revisited

DIOR HOMME: THE SNEAKER REVISITED

Banana Republic collaboration with Roland Mouret

Banana Republic collaboration with Roland Mouret

BANANA REPUBLIC COLLABORATES WITH ROLAND MOURET

Actress Rebecca Hall

Actress Rebecca Hall

INTERVIEW WITH ACTRESS REBECCA HALL (intro)

Fendi Timepieces Refines the Crazy Carats at Basel World

Fendi Timepieces Refines the Crazy Carats at Basel World

FENDI TIMEPIECES REFINES THE CRAZY CARATS

Van Cleef & Arpels Cosmo Collection

Van Cleef & Arpels Cosmo Collection

VAN CLEEF & ARPELS COSMOS COLLECTION

TO TOMMY FROM ZOOEY: ZOOEY DESCHANEL & TOMMY HILFIGER

Lupita Nyong'o as the new face of Lancome

Lupita Nyong’o as the new face of Lancome

LUPITA NYONG’O: THE NEW FACE OF LANCOME

DIESEL'S EXCLUSIVE RUNWAY SHOW IN VENICE

Diesel’s Exclusive Runway Show in Venice

DIESEL’S EXCLUSIVE RUNWAY SHOW IN VENICE

Tommy Hilfiger True Blue Collection

Tommy Hilfiger True Blue Collection

TOMMY HILFIGER TRUE BLUE COLLECTION

KENZO - No Fish No Nothing

KENZO – No Fish No Nothing

KENZO – No Fish No Nothing

For more updates and the latest in the world of art and fashion feel free to subscribe to Crash Diaries ! Hopefully it will make some of these little elements a little more personable to know that there are actual people behind each of the articles you see in a magazine or on a website, and hopefully you’ll enjoy it just that little bit more. 🙂 Remember, it’s not just the emotionless machine spewing fashion news at you!… It’s someone just like little ol’ me! 🙂

xx

Meesh

One response to “CRASH-ing Into My Life in Print

  1. I can`t keep up with all your activities, you are such a busy girl! Is it hard work and as glamorous as it seems? It certainly is a great experience and will hopefully open many doors for you. Are you settled there? What are your future plans? I sense that you are a little lonely and uncertain of your next move. Whatever you choose to do will be a new experience that will affect your life choices. You are young and have a lifetime to try new adventures, and knowing you, I am sure that you will. Don`t be afraid of moving on because it is all part of who you are and becoming. You are a lucky young lady to have such opportunities, so embrace them and experiment until you find where you are happiest. This is most important!! I wish you all the luck in the world in whatever you choose to do. I love you , Michelle. Keep us posted as we love hearing from you. Nana xoxoxox

Leave a Reply

