Reflections and Images

Below is a little visual collage of images from my daily life which have some kind of nostalgic quality to them… but not enough of a weight or length to be able to sustain a full story.

I have finished my internship and am now taking this time to have a moment to reflect on all that I have experienced. I think it is important to take a moment and find those little moments of calm and appreciation, to congratulate yourself on your accomplishments, to soak in all that you’ve experienced, and to take a deep breath before plunging once again into the unknown.

Upwards and Onwards.

My sister gave me this handcrafted single earring for Christmas this year. She bought it for me when she was travelling in Honduras. I wear it all the time – especially when I miss her. I feel like it gives me some sort of comfort and makes me feel like she’s with me.

Wearing a Handcrafted single earring (For Power!) my sister picked up for me while travelling in Honduras.

Wearing a Handcrafted single earring (For Power!) from Honduras. Thanks Rosie x

People who know me well know I love to do illustrations of my friends and people who’s style I appreciate. In most cases, it’s usually both. Here is a picture I drew of my friend and colleague Summer. She loves Acne Studios and is usually always wearing something by Acne. She is a sweetheart and I feel very glad to know her.

My Illustration of Summer

My Illustration of Summer

We were cold at work, so we put on some vintage Jose Castro fur coats. Mine is blue and makes me feel like Cookie Monster… or what’s left of him.

Jose Castro Fur Coat

Jose Castro Fur Coat

This is a drawing I did of my friend and colleague Xavier. He is very thin, very chic, and very quiet, and very French. He doesn’t say much, but when he does, it’s always something profound. If you can’t find him in the office, he’ll be outside having a cigarette.

My Illustration of Xavier

My Illustration of Xavier

L’Officiel Magazine giving me my Pisces Horoscope for my Birthday Month. Looks like it’ll be a good one.

L'Officiel Magazine telling me my Horoscope

L’Officiel Magazine Pisces Horoscope

Breakfast for one. It’s strange how when you’re eating in public alone, you suddenly become so much more aware of HOW you eat… the “style” in which you fuel yourself. Cafe Latte, fresh pressed OJ, fresh fruit, confiture, bacon and eggs. Don’t mind if I do! This picture reminds me that you don’t need a table full of people to enjoy something that’s beautiful and delicious.

Breakfast for One

Breakfast for One

Running is hard, but it’s made a whole lot easier when you jog along the Seine river every day. A day doesn’t go by that my mind is in such awe of the fact that I can jog around the Louvre… Like in what world?! These Nike Lunar 2’s are probably the most incredible thing I’ve ever put on my feet. They’re so light and every step feels like you’re dancing on clouds. Seriously chic and seriously functional. And YES, I’ve worn these bad boys to fashion week. (Thank God for this whole ‘Running Shoe Chic’ trend! For once practicality and style meet on a very comfortable playing field.)

Nike Lunar 2 Running Shoes

Nike Lunar 2 Running Shoes

I died when I saw this window display. Saint Germain, there you go again. This is perfection. Every. Single. Inch.

Proper Man Style. Proper Visual Display.

Proper Man Style. Proper Visual Display.

I had to take this picture when walking past a toy store window. I had an amazing French teacher (he was legit, he was actually from France people. Not one of these “I traveled for three months in a French country and now I feel qualified to teach your children a new language”.) and I still absolutely adore him. I remember getting a paper back once with huge, angry red strike out marks on part of my written dialogue. When I looked closer he had furiously scratched out “Woof Woof” and wrote “WOUAF WOUAF!!!!!!!!”. Mon Dieu! Needless to say it was never a mistake I made again. πŸ˜‰

"French dogs don't say 'Woof', they say 'Wouaf'!"

“French dogs don’t say ‘Woof’, they say ‘Wouaf’!”

Keep Calm and Book a Model! Comp Cards from Premium Models.

Comp Cards for Premium Model Management

Comp Cards for Premium Model Management

I spent a gorgeous sunny day strolling around the city after my last day of work with my friend Summer (see illustration above! hehe). We some how stumbled across this incredible vegetal wall somewhere near Reaumur Sebastopol. It was so beautiful. It makes me feel so much more human to see greenery – actual living things in the city. One of my favourite “accidental discoveries” in this city by far.

Amazing Vegetal Wall

Amazing Vegetal Wall

Work perks in the fashion industry obviously means clothing.

Work Perks

Work Perks

Incase you’re reading this with no idea what the Chanel show was like this season, let me sum it up by saying that Karl Lagerfeld recreated an enormous Chanel Supermarket inside the Grand Palais. And it was GENIUS! Over the top, and absolutely incredible. Every product in the supermarket was Chanel. They even have Chanel spagettini!! Coco Flake cereal, you name it, it was all there. Someone at work had written a sticky note about the Chanel Supermarket show, and then somehow it ended up in the trash. I found this to be somewhat ironic and poignant! After all, what we purchase from the supermarket in some form or another ends up as garbage. And garbage is garbage… even if it says Chanel… Right?!

Chanel Supermarket Inevitability?!

Chanel Supermarket Inevitability?!

Xavier quietly working, complete with Tommy Hilfiger Wigger hat, and solid Tommy Athletics gear. He’s our French Thug.

Xavier work style

Xavier work style

Camomile Tea after long rainy days.

Camomile Tea Time

Camomile Tea Time

Amazing Street/Graffiti Artist Sonke.

Saint Germain Street Art by Artist Sonke

Saint Germain Street Art by Artist Sonke

Enjoying a weekend by exploring little markets led us to stumble into a room filled with orchids. It looked and smelled amazing. The best kind of beauty is the kind you find when you weren’t expecting to.

Olla and the Orchids

Olla and the Orchids

We found a market full of birds and everything you could ever need to take care of one. It was incredible, beautiful, and a little heartbreaking. I always feel torn when I see a beautiful bird in a cage. But the sound in that street is so wonderful and seeing all of their colours all in one place was an overload of the incredible capabilities of nature. I started to realize how colourless my life has been!

The Heartbreak and Beauty of a caged bird

The Heartbreak and Beauty of a caged bird

My bored, scribbly sketch of a lion when I was feeling like I need a little more power.

Sketchy Scratchy Lion

Sketchy Scratchy Lion

Advice my Dad always gave me. “Work hard so you can Play hard.” Love you Dad.

Dad Advice

Dad Advice

Meesh
xx

Leave a Reply

